News Archive

Unit 6 members recognized for excellence in school leadership

May 03, 2011

Congratulations to Tom Kurashige (Unit 6), principal of Aiea Intermediate School, who was recently selected as the recipient of the 2011 Masayuki Tokioka Excellence in School Leadership Award.

The award, named in honor of the late Masayuki Tokioka, founder of Island Insurance Company, Ltd., is presented to a public school principal who is visionary, community-minded, and has an entrepreneurial spirit – qualities of leadership that Tokioka exemplified in his own company and in the business community.

Kurashige, who has been a principal for 22 years (11 of which have been with Aiea Intermediate School), received $15,000 for a school project of his choice and an additional $10,000 cash award.

Ann Mahi (Unit 6), principal of Roosevelt High School, was a semi-finalist and received a $2,000 cash award from the Island Insurance Foundation.

Seven other Unit 6 members/principals were nominated for the award and each received $1,000 and a commemorative plaque: Susan Alivado, Paia Elementary; Sherry Kobayashi, Ewa Beach Elementary; Pauline Masaniai, Kahuku Elementary; Dennis O’Brien, Ernest Bowen deSilva Elementary; Bonnie Tabor, Waikiki Elementary; Suzanne Yamada, Palisades Elementary; and Joe Yamamoto, Maunaloa Elementary.

Back to News Archive