News Archive

2015-2017 State Board of Directors Election Results

May 16, 2015

Jackie Ferguson-Miyamoto, Unit 3 member and office assistant with the State Department of Transportation, Harbors Division, has been elected to a two-year term as HGEA president.


The following directors were elected:
UNIT 3 DIRECTORS (6 seats)
Jon A. Gasper, office assistant, State Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs, Professional and Vocational Licensing Division
Harry Gima, pre-audit clerk, City & County of Honolulu, Budget & Fiscal Services Department, Accounting Division/Payroll Section
Darleen K. Hoshida, cashier, State Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs, ASO/Fiscal Division
Joycelyn “Jolly” Iwata, secretary, State Department of Health, Adult Mental Health Division
Sandra Moses, clerk typist, Hilo Medical Center, Respiratory Division
Suzy S. Okino, office assistant, State Department of Health, Family Health Services Division


UNIT 13 DIRECTORS (4 seats)
Arnold D. Abe, civil engineer, County of Maui, Environmental Management Department, Wastewater Reclamation Division
Roberta Chun, GIS analyst, City & County of Honolulu, Department of Design and Construction, Project Control and Program Management

Amanda R. K. Lowrey, sanitarian, State Department of Health, Environmental Health Services Division
Pamela Young, accounting section supervisor, City & County of Honolulu, Budget and Fiscal Services Department, Accounting and Fiscal Services Division
UNIT 14 DIRECTOR (1 seat)
Melvin N. Puu, lifeguard, City & County of Honolulu, Emergency Services Department, Ocean Safety Division
Eight candidates ran unopposed and, in accordance with the HGEA Bylaws, were declared automatically elected:
OAHU-AT-LARGE DIRECTOR (1 seat): Diane A. Nakashima, Unit 8 member and education specialist, University of Hawaii, Manoa Catalog Office, Office of the Assistant Vice Chancellor of Undergrad Education
HAWAII-AT-LARGE (1 seat): Veronica M. Tarleton, Unit 3 member and secretary, University of Hawaii at Hilo, Library Services

MAUI-AT-LARGE (1 seat): Mary D. Wagner, Unit 13 member and business continuity plan manager, County of Maui - Management, Information Technology Services Division
UNIT 2 (1 seat): Ken K. Morikawa, district road overseer, County of Kauai, Department of Public Works, Highways Division
UNIT 4 (1 seat): Harold K. Naone, supervising police radio dispatcher, Honolulu Police Department, Communications Division
UNIT 6 (1 seat): Kelcy K. M. Koga, principal, Waiakea High School
UNIT 8 (1 seat): Elwyn L. Watkins, building and security systems engineer, University of Hawaii at Manoa, John A. Burns School of Medicine
UNIT 9 (1 seat): Josette “Jojo” Kawana, registered nurse, State Department of Health, Behavioral Health Division

The new term for president and board of directors is July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2017. All are volunteers and serve without compensation.
The deadline for protest or challenges on the conduct of the election is May 21. The State Board of Directors will certify the results at its May 29 board meeting.
Ballots were mailed to eligible HGEA members April 14, and counted in the Honolulu headquarters building today, May 16, by N&K CPAs, Inc., HGEA's third-party elections organization.


Notice of Special Election
Due to the resignation of Ka‘aina Hull, Kauai-at-Large Director, a special election is being conducted to fill the Kauai-at-Large Director seat. Any active member in good standing residing on Kauai may be a candidate for this position. If you are interested in being a candidate, nomination petition forms are available at the Kauai Division Office and online at Deadline to apply is June 1, 2015.

Back to News Archive