Become an HGEA Retiree

Even when you are retired, you still need a union — to protect your public pension, to improve your retirement benefits, and to help elect government officials who understand the needs of retired public employees. That is why HGEA established the Retirees Unit and why we're urging you to join our ranks when you retire!

The HGEA Retirees Unit is composed of over 9,500 retired county and state government employees. As the largest government retirees organization in the state, we are affiliated with AFSCME (American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees), our "watchdog" at the Federal level. Together we lobby Congress, appeal to state legislators and even fight City Hall, in the effort to preserve and enhance our social security, pension and health care benefits. We also encourage all willing members to get involved with the political campaigns of candidates that are endorsed by HGEA, as they will fight to ensure our hard-earned retirement.

Events & Activities

To view the wide range of fun and exciting Retiree events and activities statewide, click here for the HGEA events calendar. Or call the Retirees Unit at (808) 543-0054. You can also find out about upcoming events through the Ho‘olaha, the Retirees Unit's bi-monthly newsletter.

Contact Us

HGEA Staff
Mahie Trask, (808) 543-0090,
Tammy Tanouye, (808) 543-0054,
Or for more information, please email

State Board of Directors
President: Ruth Walker
Vice-President: Susan Goya
Secretary: Ethel Fleming
Treasurer: Patrick Frane

Hawaii Island Chapter Officers:
President: Evelyn Togashi
Vice President: Olga Hayashi
Secretary: Charlene Sugihara   
Treasurer: Vicky Calica

Kauai Island Chapter Officers:
President: Timothy Albao
Vice President: Thomas Oi
Secretary: Carol Sakai
Treasurer: Delores Kaauwai

Maui Island Chapter Officers:
President: Dennis Schwind
Vice President: Mary Wagner
Secretary: Kay Tesoro
Treasurer: Leticia Hedani

Oahu Island Chapter Officers:
President: Ava Kridler
Vice President: Victoria Kim
Secretary: Yolanda Faria
Treasurer: John Wadahara