Staff Directory

HGEA has offices in Honolulu, Hilo, Wailuku and Lihue, and is run by a skilled and professional staff who provides quality representation and membership services to those in the union’s nine bargaining units, as well as Associate members (composed primarily of retirees, other state and county employees and officials, and federal and private sector employees). The staff is headed by Executive Director Randy Perreira, who was appointed in January 2008 and is the fifth executive director to lead HGEA since its founding in 1934.

Office of the Executive Director

Randy Perreira, Executive Director 543-0011 service@hgea.org
Debra Kagawa-Yogi, Deputy Executive Director - Field Services 543-0003 dkagawa@hgea.org
Shannon Hayashida, Executive Secretary 543-0012 shayashida@hgea.org
Carol Deguchi, Private Secretary to the Deputy Executive Director - Field Services 543-0013 cdeguchi@hgea.org
Antonette Sakamoto​, Private Secretary to the Deputy Executive Director - Field Services 543-0013 asakamoto@hgea.org
Joan Gallagher, Union Agent for MCEC 543-0020 
jgallagher@hgea.org
Sanford Chun, Executive Assistant for Field Services 543-0070 schun@hgea.org

Field Services

OAHU ISLAND DIVISION

Member Service Center/Advocacy

Stacy Moniz, Advocacy Chief 543-0055 smoniz@hgea.org
Margie Abe, Executive Administrative Assistant 543-0067 mabe@hgea.org

Scott Collins, Field Services Officer 543-0085 scollins@hgea.org
Ben Oliver, Union Agent 543-0053 boliver@hgea.org
Christina Kapu, Union Agent 543-0062 ckapu@hgea.org
Erin Kamakaiwi, Union Agent 543-0082 ekamakaiwi@hgea.org
Jayson Fukumoto, Union Agent 543-0036, jfukumoto@hgea.org
Jesse Sliva, Union Agent 543-0086 jsliva@hgea.org
Kainua Hopkins, Union Agent 543-0034 khopkins@hgea.org
Lydia Fatutoa, Union Agent 543-0045 lfatutoa@hgea.org
Melanie Pugay, Union Agent 543-0056 mpugay@hgea.org
Maile Tupouniua, Member Service Center Technician 543-0094 mtupouniua@hgea.org

Field Outreach

Joy Bulosan, Field Services Officer 543-0057 jbulosan@hgea.org
Chad Ngai, Field Services Officer 543-0042 cngai@hgea.org
Alison Badua-Bohner, Union Agent 543-0039 abadua@hgea.org
Claire Ancheta, Union Agent 543-0092 cancheta@hgea.org   
Donny Utu, Union Agent 543-0038 dutu@hgea.org
Jermel Anderson, Union Agent 543-0044 j
anderson@hgea.org
John Higgins, Union Agent 543-0031 jhiggins@hgea.org
Kauanui Sabas, Union Agent 543-0083 ksabas@hgea.org
Shyanne Teruya, Union Agent 543-0084 steruya@hgea.org
Tom Tsuhako, Union Agent 543-0048 ttsuhako@hgea.org
Wes Tufaga, Union Agent 543-0081 wtufaga@hgea.org
Joy Kuwabara, Field Services Consultant 543-0078 jkuwabar@hgea.org
Cyndee Hata, Field Support/Consultation Specialist 543-0033 chata@hgea.org
John Foy, Member Benefits Specialist 543-0046 jfoy@hgea.org
Matthew Reiter, Education & Training Specialist 543-0089 mreiter@hgea.org
Wesley Aki, Member and Community Engagement Specialist 543-0088 waki@hgea.org

HAWAII ISLAND DIVISION

Lorena Kauhi, Acting Hawaii Division Chief 961-0761 lkauhi@hgea.org
Audrey Kahawai-Kekipi, Union Agent 961-0764 akahawai@hgea.org
Shyann Davis, Union Agent 961-0762 sdavis@hgea.org
Solette Perry, Union Agent 961-0767 sperry@hgea.org
Bernice Goodness-Viveiros, Field Services Technician 961-0765 bgoodness@hgea.org    

MAUI ISLAND DIVISION

Toni Rust, Division Chief 243-4464 trust@hgea.org
Charity Sadang, Union Agent 243-4462 csadang@hgea.org
John Costales Jr., Union Agent 243-4465 jcostales@hgea.org
Todd Watkins, Union Agent 243-4463 twatkins@hgea.org
Jennie Aruda, Office Secretary 243-4460 jaruda@hgea.org     

KAUAI ISLAND DIVISION

Christopher Nii, Division Chief 241-5368 cnii@hgea.org
Brennen Carvalho, Union Agent 241-5361 bcarvalho@hgea.org
Joni Taba, Field Services Technician 241-5360 jtaba@hgea.org      

Administration Services

Communications

Brannagan Mukaisu, Senior Communications Specialist 543-0024 bmukaisu@hgea.org
Keri Tokuhama, Digital Media Specialist 543-0063 ktokuhama@hgea.org

Financial Services

Maureen Wakuzawa, Financial Officer 543-0041 mwakuzaw@hgea.org
Paula Kobayashi, Assistant Controller 543-0032 pkobayashi@hgea.org
Joni Yamamoto, Accounting Specialist 543-0037 jyamamot@hgea.org
Jeri Lono, Lead Fiscal Services Technician 543-0065 jlono@hgea.org
Editha Domingo, Fiscal Services Technician 543-0021 edomingo@hgea.org
Sheryl Wong, Account Technician 543-0068 swong@hgea.org
Margaret Brash, Fiscal Services Assistant 543-0072 mbrash@hgea.org

Human Resources

Stephanie Ching, Human Resources Manager 543-0007 sching@hgea.org

Information Technology

Everett Inamasu, Information Technology Manager 543-0015 einamasu@hgea.org 
Kanani Naauao, Information Technology Specialist 543-0025 knaauao@hgea.org  

Legislative

Michele Kurihara-Klein, Legislative Officer 543-0093 mkurihara@hgea.org

Office Services

Nate Wong, Office Services Specialist 543-0064 nwong@hgea.org
James Oshiro, Print Shop Technician 543-0026 joshiro@hgea.org

Retirees Unit

Mahie Trask, Retirees Unit Administrator 543-0090 mtrask@hgea.org
Tammy Tanouye, Office Secretary 543-0054 ttanouye@hgea.org      

AFSCME - Hawaii Area

Elizabeth Ho, Area Field Services Director 543-0022 lho@afscme.org
Iris Chun, Secretary 543-0004 ichun@afscme.org  
Bronson Silva, Union Agent 543-0023 bsilva@afscme.org